Moving & Handling Workshop

It’s vitally important to be able to assist an elderly person to move in a manner that is safe both for the person being moved, but also the person who is assisting. Our free workshop, which is open to all, will enable you to do this.

You’re welcome to join us for as long as is useful. We run regular workshops on safe Moving and Handling techniques across all of our offices and we would be delighted to have you.

This workshop is made up of theory as well as practical work.  The theory element of the workshop provides a good basis for understanding how to keep ourselves and our loved ones and clients safe when we support them to move.

You will learn about:

  • The legal aspect – what legislation exists and how does it affect me?
  • The causes and effects of musculoskeletal injuries.
  • How to prevent musculoskeletal injuries (at home and work!).
  • Understanding how to assess risk.

Practicing safe moves

During the practical part of the training you will have a chance to practice some safe moves including:

  • Supporting someone while they walk
  • Helping someone get up from a chair
  • Supporting someone to sit down
  • Tips on using a wheelchair safely

The free workshop is from 9.30am – 4pm. Lunch and refreshments are provided!

Edinburgh

Address:
18C Liberton Brae
Edinburgh
Midlothian
EH16 6AE

Upcoming Workshops

  • Wednesday 11th October 2017
  • Thursday 9th November 2017
  • Friday 8th December 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Glasgow South

Address:
Kirkhill House Office Park,
81 Broom Road East,
Newton Mearns,
Glasgow,
East Renfrewshire,
G77 5LL

Upcoming Workshops:

  • Wednesday 25th October 2017
  • Wednesday 22nd November 2017
  • Thursday 21st December 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Perthshire

Address:
7 Charlotte Street
Perth, Perthshire
PH1 5LW

Upcoming Workshops:

  • Thursday 19th October 2017
  • Wednesday 15th November 2017
  • Friday 15th December 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Stirlingshire

Address:
The Mill
Station Road
Bridge of Allan
FK9 4JS

Upcoming Workshops: 

  • Friday 6th October 2017
  • Wednesday 1st November 2017
  • Friday 1st December 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm